Search Our Site...


USDA Designates Natural Disaster Areas- Ag Losses Caused by Severe Storms and Flooding

September 21, 2016

Baton Rouge, La. (September 21, 2016) – The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 11 parishes in Louisiana as primary natural disaster areas because of the recent storms and flooding. This means, some Louisiana farmers could be eligible for assistance.


Farmers in Acadia, Ascension, Cameron, Evangeline, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, St. James, St. Landry, St. Martin and Vermilion parishes are eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible areas have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover.


“As we continue to work to get assistance for our farmers following the historic flooding in August, this is one way agriculture producers can hopefully help sustain these businesses,” said Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M.


These parishes are also designated contiguous disaster areas as a result of damages and losses because of the flooding: Allen, Assumption, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Calcasieu, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Lafourche, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, St. John the Baptist and St. Mary.


Jefferson and Orange counties in the adjacent state of Texas are also named as contiguous disaster counties.


Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with additional information.