Search Our Site...


USDA Designates Natural Disaster Areas

Ag Losses Caused by Excessive Rain

June 23, 2017

Baton Rouge, La. (June 23, 2017) – The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) designated Evangeline Parish in Louisiana as a primary natural disaster area as the result of losses and damages caused by heavy and excessive rain that occurred from April 4, 2017 through May 23, 2017.


Acadia, Allen, Avoyelles, Jefferson Davis, Rapides and St. Landry parishes also qualify for natural disaster assistance because these parishes are contiguous to Evangeline.


“Our farmers and ranchers continue to face hardships as the result of weather conditions that are beyond their control. We will work with the federal government to get whatever assistance we can to help them sustain their businesses,” said Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M.


All parishes listed above were designated natural disaster areas on June 21, 2017, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for Farm Service Agency’s (FSA’s) emergency (EM) loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible parishes have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.


Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program.


Local FSA offices can provide additional information to affected farmers and ranchers. Additional information is also available online at