Search Our Site...


USDA Designates Natural Disaster Areas

July 15, 2016

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) designated seven counties in Arkansas as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by excessive rain, flash flooding, flooding, hail, high winds and lighting that occurred from March 8, 2016  and continuing. As a result, some Louisiana farmers could be eligible for assistance.

In accordance with section 321 (a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties and parishes in adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster areas. Louisiana producers in East Carroll, Morehouse, Union and West Carroll parishes are eligible for low interest emergency loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible areas have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

The seven Arkansas counties that are designated primary disaster areas include: Ashley, Chicot, Fulton, Lawrence, Lonoke, White and Woodruff. The contiguous Arkansas counties are: Arkansas, Baxter, Bradley, Cleburne, Craighead, Cross, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Monroe, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, St. Francis, Sharp and Union.

East Carroll, Morehouse, Union and West Carroll parishes are contiguous to these Arkansas counties that are impacted by the excessive rain and flooding.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.