Search Our Site...


USDA Designates Natural Disaster Areas

Ag Damages and Losses Caused by Hurricane Harvey Flooding 

January 3, 2018

Baton Rouge, La. (January 3, 2018) – Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M., said the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated two parishes in Louisiana as primary natural disaster areas because of damage and losses  caused by flooding from Hurricane Harvey that occurred from August 26 through October 10, 2017. This means, some Louisiana farmers could be eligible for assistance.

Farmers in Avoyelles and Catahoula parishes are eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met.

Strain said farmers in eligible areas have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover.

These nine parishes are also designated contiguous disaster areas as a result of damages and losses because of the flooding: Caldwell, Concordia, Evangeline, Franklin, LaSalle, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, St. Landry and Tensas.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with additional information.