Search Our Site...


USDA Designates Drought Disaster Areas

January 15, 2014

Today, Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M.,  received notice from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) that three Louisiana parishes contiguous to Arkansas are now designated natural disaster areas as a result of a recent drought.
The three parishes named as contiguous disaster areas are: Claiborne, Morehouse and Union.
A federal disaster designation makes farm operators in primary and contiguous areas eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes low interest FSA emergency loans.
Farmers and ranchers may get more information from their local FSA offices.