Search Our Site...


Strain elected SASDA president

June 19, 2012

src=/portal//Portals/0/News/photos/Strain_M_4x5.gifAgriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M., was chosen to serve as president of the Southern Association of State Departments of Agriculture (SASDA) at the organization’s annual meeting June 14.
The post is a one-year term.
“To serve as SASDA president will not only give me an opportunity to strengthen the southern states’ agricultural impact to the nation, but Louisiana’s as well,” Strain said “Southern agricultural interests are poised to play a very important role in the future of American agriculture. We have the infrastructure, the resources and the knowledge to make a real impact on national and international agricultural policy.”
In addition to Strain’s election, Commissioner Matt Lohr of Virginia was elected vice president, Commissioner Gary Black of Georgia was chosen to serve as secretary and Commissioner John McMillan of Alabama will be the organization’s treasurer for the upcoming year.
Strain said the Farm Bill, international trade, labor and food safety issues will be of particular importance to the organization
“The southern states want to maintain the funding levels of the Farm Bill,” Strain said. “We share common goals in that regard and will be able to speak with one voice on the issues that represent southern agriculture.
“We’re also all in agreement that public health and food safety are critical. It’s very important that consumers know that they are purchasing the highest quality and safest food items possible. SASDA members are working together to institute traceability systems so that when there is a problem we can identify the source quickly.
“I feel honored that my fellow area commissioners of agriculture have confidence in me to represent this vital agricultural organization. I look forward to working with all of the southern agricultural interests during my term as president of SASDA.
SASDA is a regional arm of the National Association of State Departments of Agriculture (NASDA). SASDA is comprised of top agriculture officials from Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Virgin Islands and West Virginia.