Search Our Site...


State Awards Farm Recovery Grants to More Than 900 Farmers, Ranchers

April 30, 2018

Baton Rouge, La. (April 30, 2018) — More than 900 farmers and ranchers in 51 parishes are set to receive disaster recovery grants to help compensate for their losses from the disastrous flooding that occurred across Louisiana in March and August of 2016. The average grant award is $9,905.65.

The applicant breakdown is as follows:

  • Total applicants: 1,065
  • Total eligible applicants: 961
  • Maximum grant awarded: $12,185.40

The Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) mailed award letters to each recipient on April 26. The letters listed the closing dates, times and locations for finalizing the grants.

“This is not a loan,” LDAF Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M., said. “The goal of this grant program is to help our farmers and ranchers sustain their businesses following a year of devastating flooding.”

The Restore Louisiana Task Force allocated $10 million for farm recovery to LDAF as part of $1.7 billion in Community Development Block Grant-Disaster Recovery money received by the Louisiana Office of Community Development from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development for recovery from The Great Floods of 2016.

To be eligible for the program, producers must have demonstrated a pre-storm, annual gross farm revenue of $25,000 in 2014, 2015 or 2016. In addition, crop losses must have amounted to a minimum of $10,000, as calculated by the crop-loss calculator. The eligible crops included cotton, corn, crawfish, grain sorghum, rice, hay, soybeans, sweet potatoes, sugarcane, strawberries, wheat and cattle.

Eligible parishes included: Acadia, Allen, Ascension, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Catahoula, Claiborne, DeSoto, East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, Jackson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, LaSalle, Lincoln, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Point Coupee, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Helena, St. James, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, Vermilion, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Baton Rouge, West Carroll, West Feliciana and Winn.