Search Our Site...


Seven Louisiana parishes included in disaster declaration

June 29, 2011

src=/portal//Portals/0/News/photos/Disaster-Map_TX_6-24-11.gifAgriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M., said seven Louisiana parishes are included in a United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) drought disaster declaration.
USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack designated 213 Texas counties as primary disaster area due to drought and related adversities. Seven Louisiana parishes that are contiguous to the Texas counties are included in the declaration. The parishes are Beauregard, Caddo, DeSoto, Sabine, Vernon, Calcasieu and Cameron.
Strain said the disaster designation makes farm operators in the primary counties and contiguous parishes eligible for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program.
Farmers in the eligible parishes have eight months from the June 24 declaration date to apply for the emergency loan assistance.
Farm operators should contact their local FSA office for more information.