Search Our Site...


Commissioner Strain honored by LSU Alumni Association

April 20, 2010

Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M., said his induction into the LSU Alumni Association Hall of Distinction was a great honor and a humbling experience.
“It was a wonderful tribute to be recognized by the LSU Alumni Association,” Strain said. “To be included in a group as illustrious as this one is a memory I will cherish.”
The Hall of Distinction ceremony and banquet took place April 16 at the Lod Cook Alumni Center in Baton Rouge.
Strain was inducted into the Hall of Distinction alongside 1959 Heisman Trophy winner Billy Cannon, U.S. Ambassador to Liberia Linda Joyce Thomas-Greenfield, Kleinpeter Farms Dairy President Jeff Kleinpeter and East Baton Rouge Parish District Attorney Hillar Moore, III.
Also included in the class were USMC (Ret.) Major General Ronald G. Richard; Dr. Eugene C. St. Martin, Sr., one of the founding physicians of the LSU Shreveport School of Medicine; Collis B. Temple, Jr., noted Baton Rouge civic leader and former All-SEC basketball player; Victor F. “Trey” Trahan, III, president of Trahan Architects and Marty Sixkiller, media tools supervisor of DreamWorks Animation.
Cannon was named Alumnus of the Year and Sixkiller was recognized as the Young Alumnus of the Year.
“I’m proud to be associated with LSU and very grateful for this accolade,” Strain said.