Search Our Site...


Certified Louisiana Day at State Capitol

May 27, 2019

Baton Rouge, LA (May 27, 2019) – The Louisiana State Legislature will recognize “Certified Louisiana Day” Tuesday, May 28, 2019.  A proclamation will be presented on both the House and Senate floors. Certified Louisiana businesses and products will also be highlighted in the Capitol rotunda with a reception at the Pentagon Barracks starting at 5:00 p.m. The reception is open to the public.

The Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) Certified Louisiana program is geared toward highlighting Louisiana products from locally owned businesses. Currently, there are 263 businesses statewide that hold a Certified Louisiana, Certified Cajun, Certified Creole, Certified Farm to Table or Certified Craft Beverages designation.

LDAF Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry Mike Strain, D.V.M., said, “We have some great Louisiana products out there. When you’re out grocery shopping, look for the certified logo. Remember, you’re helping the local economy when you are supporting a Louisiana business.”

For a product to be eligible to use a “Certified Louisiana” logo, the product must be made, grown, manufactured, processed, produced or substantially transformed in the state of Louisiana. A company must also be in compliance with applicable state and federal permits, licenses and laws. The LDAF determines eligibility.

For more information or to apply, go to and click on the certified logo link or go to That is also where you can find a list of Louisiana businesses and products that are currently designated as Certified Louisiana.

There is a $25 non-refundable application fee. If approved, there is a $30 registration fee per logo. All logos must be renewed every three years.