Search Our Site...


Additional Farm Recovery Grant Program Meetings Scheduled

July 21, 2017

Baton Rouge, La. (July 21, 2017) – Six outreach meetings are currently scheduled for North Louisiana agricultural producers to discuss guidelines and the application process for recovery grant money. This recovery grant money will go toward eligible farmers and ranchers in 51 parishes who suffered losses as a result of disastrous flooding in March and August of 2016.


The informational meetings scheduled at this time are:


July 24th 

  • 9:00 AM– Scott Research Extension Center
    212-B Macon Ridge Road
    Winnsboro, LA 71295
  • 1:00 PM– Thomas Jason Lingo Center
    10284 Hwy 17
    Oak Grove, LA 71263
  • 4:00 PM– Louisiana Department of Agriculture & Forestry Monroe Office
    754 Hwy 80 E
    Monroe, LA 71203



July 25th 

  • 9:00 AM– Louisiana Department of Agriculture & Forestry Haughton Office
    740 Covington Road
    Haughton, LA 71037
  • 1:00 PM– Natchitoches Municipal Building
    560 Second Street
    Natchitoches, LA 71457
  • 2:00 PM– Haas Auditorium
    208 Pershing Avenue
    Bunkie, LA 71322



The $10 million grant is funded through the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (as Community Development Block Disaster Recovery Program {CDBG}grant funds). The Office of Community Development, Disaster Recovery Unit, receives the CDBG disaster recovery grant funds from HUD. The Louisiana Department of Agriculture of Forestry will then administer the program. The funding is part of the $1.6 billion congressional appropriation for Restore Louisiana.


“Unlike other assistance our farmers can receive in the aftermath of a disaster, this flood recovery grant money is not a loan. The goal of these meetings is to give our farmers the information they need to get as much assistance as they are eligible to receive in an effort to help them sustain their businesses following the devastating floods,” said Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M.


Producers with pre-storm annual gross farm revenue of $25,000 in the years 2014, 2015 or 2016 are eligible to apply.


Crop loss must amount to a minimum of $10,000 as calculated by the crop loss calculator. Eligible crops include: cotton, corn, crawfish, grain sorghum, rice, hay, soybeans, sweet potatoes, sugarcane, strawberries, wheat and cattle.


Eligible parishes include: Acadia, Allen, Ascension, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Catahoula, Claiborne, DeSoto, East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, Jackson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, LaSalle, Lincoln, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Point Coupee, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Helena, St. James, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, Vermilion, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Baton Rouge, West Carroll, West Feliciana and Winn.


To review the guidelines, go to Applications are now available online.