Print

Pesticides

Pesticide Forms

Pesticide Label Search (Website)

Pesticide Law RS 3:3201-3389 (Website)

Pesticides, Rules and Regulation, State Register, Title 7, Part XXIII (Website)

Pesticide Regulations

Advisory Commission on Pesticides: Pesticide Registration, Certification & Training, Storage, Spills, School Integrated Pest Management (IPM) plans, etc.)

The Advisory Commission on Pesticides serves to protect the interests, health, safety, and welfare of the Louisiana public through rules and regulations pertaining to the proper labeling, sale, distribution, transportation, storage, use and application, and disposal of pesticides within the state.

These rules and regulations include but are not limited to – rules and regulations for registration of pesticides for sale and use in Louisiana, for governing the certification and licensure of pesticide applicators, for agricultural worker and pesticide handler safety, for water protection, for the transportation, storage and handling of pesticides and pesticide application equipment, and for the treatment of pesticide residues and the handling and disposal of solid wastes generated in the course of pesticide use.

Pesticide/Pharmaceutical Product Registration & Special Registrations – Section 18s and 24Cs

Pesticide
Any substance or mixture of substances intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating any pest and any substance or combination of substances intended for use as a plant regulator, defoliant, dessicant, or any substance the commissioner determines to be a pesticide.

Pharmaceutical
Any substance intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or prevention of plant or animal pests, diseases, viruses, bacteria or other microorganisms in or on livestock and any substance other than food intended to affect the structure or any function of the body of any livestock.

Product Registration
The Louisiana Dept. of Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) pesticide/pharmaceutical (including FIFRA 25(b) products) registration requirements are as follows:

  1. Submission of a registration application form *LDAF offers Online Registration* (Contact the Product Registration office by telephone, mail or email listed below for forms or online registration information)
  2. The fee ($400.00 per year per product)
  3. An electronic copy of the product label, and
  4. A electronic copy of the product MSDS (if applicable)

LDAF does not require a copy of the EPA stamped approved label or a copy of the Confidential Statement of Formula (CSF).

LDAF pesticide registration period is a calendar year, January 1 – December 31. The registration fee is not pro-rated for a partial year’s registration. The $400 fee is required regardless of the time of year the pesticide registration application is submitted.

Each pesticide with a unique United States Environmental Protection Agency pesticide registration number or a unique brand name must be registered. Accordingly, alternate brand name, supplemental or distributor products are required to be registered. However, products where the variations in labels do not list substantive changes, such as, but not limited to odor, flavorings, or colors require only a single registration. In such cases, write “Various Colors, Fragrances, or etc.” after the Product Name and submit one registration.

LDAF does not require registration of pesticide spray adjuvants.

You can get a copy of the label and/or MSDS of LDAF registered products by searching our database at Louisiana Pesticide Registration Website.

Special Registrations, Permits, Exemptions

Section 24(c)
The commissioner may issue a Special Local Needs (SLN) registration for a pesticide for use in a specified location based on a specified local need. The composition and label of the pesticide shall comply with state and federal requirements. The special local needs registration shall be issued in accordance with Section 24(c) of the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, & Rodenticide Act (F.I.F.R.A.) Each applicant for a special local needs registration shall submit five copies of the application and the documents supporting the application. Each applicant shall pay a fee of one hundred dollars for each application for a special local needs registration.

EUP
The commissioner may apply to the Environmental Protection Agency for authority to issue State Experimental Use Permits (EUP). If the Environmental Protection Agency authorizes the commissioner to issue state experimental use permits, the following terms and conditions shall apply:

  • The commissioner must find that the applicant needs the permit in order to accumulate information necessary to register a pesticide under Section 3221 of this Chapter.
  • The commissioner may refuse to issue the permit if he finds that the issuance is not warranted or if he finds that the use of the pesticide under the proposed terms and conditions may cause unreasonably adverse effects on the environment
  • The commissioner shall prescribe the terms, conditions, and period of time for the permit
  • All actions of permit holders and applications of pesticides pursuant to each permit shall be subject to supervision by the Department of Agriculture
  • An application for a state experimental use permit may be filed at the time of, before, or after an application for registration is filed
  • The state experimental use permit shall be issued in accordance with Section 5(f) of the F.I.F.R.A.
  • Each applicant for a state experimental use permit shall pay a fee of two hundred dollars for each application submitted

Section 18
The commissioner may apply to the E.P.A. for an emergency exemption to allow the application of a pesticide if the commissioner finds that an emergency exists or will exist, that a pesticide is available which will alleviate the effects of the emergency, and that the pesticide cannot be used because of state or federal laws or rules and regulations. The application shall be in accordance with the provisions of Section 18 of the F.I.F.R.A. If the E.P.A. grants the emergency exemption, all actions and applications shall be subject to supervision by the Department of Agriculture.

Online Pesticide/Pharmaceutical Registration (Web site)

Pesticide Licensing: Ground, Aerial, RUP Dealers, Consultants

Your business must be licensed if you intend on applying any pesticide (including general use pesticides) for hire, selling any federally restricted use pesticide or state restricted use pesticides, or making pesticide recommendations for a fee.

Also, the business must employ at least one certified Commercial Pesticide Applicator, RUP Salesperson, or Agricultural Consultant, respectively.

Additionally, all licensed companies must pay the appropriate annual fees (Pesticide Fee Schedule), and Owner Operator Licensed companies must maintain and provide evidence of financial surety (Rules and Regulations Section133) and register their mechanized pesticide application equipment.

Types of Pesticide Licenses

  • Ground Owner Operator License – Commercial Pesticide Application companies engaged in the business of applying any pesticide by ground.
  • Aerial Owner Operator – Phenoxy License – Commercial Pesticide Application companies engaged in the business of applying phenoxy pesticides by aircraft.
  • Aerial Owner Operator – Non-Phenoxy License – Commercial Pesticide Application companies engaged in the business of applying non-phenoxy pesticides by aircraft.
  • RUP Dealer License – Companies engaged in the business of selling restricted use pesticides or state restricted use pesticides.
  • Agricultural Consultant License – Companies engaged in the business of making pesticide recommendations for a fee. Agricultural Consultant recommendations must be made in specific format (Pesticide Law RS 3:3201-3389 Section 3246.

Pesticide Fee Schedule

Pesticide/Pharmaceutical Product Registration (Annual) – $400.00
Special Local Need Registration – $100.00

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification Examination Fee (Private Applicator exempt)

  • In Baton Rouge – $25.00
  • At Meeting outside Baton Rouge – $25.00
  • At District Offices – $50.00

Aerial/Ground Pesticide Owner-Operator License Fees (Annual)

  • Resident License Fee – $200.00 (“Resident” means any person who has been domiciled in Louisiana for a period of at least ninety days immediately preceding the date of application for the license and who has not claimed residence in any other state for any other purpose.)
  • Nonresident License Fee – $500.00 (“Nonresident” means any person who does not qualify as a “Resident” above.)

Pesticide Applicator Certification Card Fees

  • Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification (Annual) – $20.00
  • Government Employee Pesticide Applicator Certification (Annual) – $25.00 (Government Pesticide Applicators are employees of local, state, and federal governments who apply pesticides in the course of their public employment.)
  • Private Pesticide Applicator Certification (Three Year) – $25.00

Mechanically Powered Spray Equipment Decal (Annual) – $50.00

Registration of Ag. Consultant Field Scout (Annual) – $10.00

Duplicate Licenses and/or Certification Cards – Same as Original

Requested Lists and Copies

  • Postage + minimum of $1 or Postage + $0.25 /page

Rules and Regulations
Pesticide Law RS 3: 3201-3389

Pesticide Applicator Recertification Meetings

2014 Private Pesticide Applicator Recertification Meetings-Dates and Locations
2014 Conferences for Commercial Pesticide Applicators, Agricultural Consultants and RUP Salespersons-Dates and Locations

Pesticide Hypersensitivity List

The Louisiana Dept. of Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) maintains a Registry of Pesticide Hypersensitive Individuals. Each person on the Registry has had a Louisiana physician verify that the individual was evaluated and found to be hypersensitive to pesticide exposure.

LDAF requests that special precautions be taken when making commercial pesticide applications near these individuals. Licensed pesticide applicators, owners and/or operators (aerial, ground or structural) are asked to notify applicable individuals on the registry of their scheduled pesticide applications within 100 feet of the individual’s residence. This is a voluntary program and cooperation between hypersensitive individuals and pesticide applicators is strongly encouraged by LDAF.

Questions concerning the Registry of Hypersensitive Individuals should be forwarded to the LDAF officials listed below.

Individuals requesting placement on the Registry can download an application form for completion. The individual, after verification by a Louisiana physician, should submit the form to the LDAF Pesticide and Environmental Programs office to be added to the list.

Registry of Pesticide Hypersensitive Individuals

Pesticide Wastes & Spills

All uncontained spills of more than 1 gallon liquid or 4 pounds dry weight must be reported to the director of Pesticides and Environmental Programs within 24 hours by telephone and by written notice within three days. Written notice of uncontained spills may be faxed to the director at 225-925-3760.

Commercial applicators are responsible for the cost of cleanups resulting from pesticide spills in their operations.

24 Hour LDAF Emergency Hotline
Pesticide Emergencies
(such as pesticide spills & health-related pesticide incidents)
1-855-452-5323

Pesticide Related Complaints

24 Hour LDAF Emergency Hotline
Pesticide Emergencies
(such as pesticide spills and health-related pesticide incidents)
1-855-452-5323

The Louisiana Dept. of Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) is the state agency responsible for investigating complaints of pesticide use or misuse. Pesticide is a general term that includes herbicides (weed control), insecticides (insect control), fungicides (fungus control) and rodenticides (mice/rat control), and others. All pesticides must be registered with both the state of Louisiana and the US EPA before the pesticide is sold or used in Louisiana. Pesticide applicators must strictly follow all requirements and restrictions on the pesticide label.

Complaints related to pesticide use or misuse must be put in writing. Please note that the LDAF has no authority to seek compensation on the behalf of any complainant. The LDAF has district offices located throughout Louisiana listed below. Please call the district office in your area or if an incident occurs after normal working hours, please call the 24 Hour LDAF Emergency Hotline at 1-855-452-5323.

Investigations involving possible injury to humans and animals are given the highest priority for investigation. If you believe that you, a family member, your pet or other animal has been harmed from a pesticide exposure, immediately seek advice and or medical attention from a medical/veterinary professional first before calling the LDAF to file a complaint. A medical/veterinary professional is the best person to assist you in dealing with your immediate health concerns.

After seeking medical attention, promptly place all clothes/footwear or other items that were worn the day/time of the alleged injury in a clean plastic bag and put the bag in a freezer.

After seeking medical/veterinary attention, call the LDAF to report your complaint. This should be done soon after your discovery to insure sufficient information can be gathered in an investigation.

Upon receipt of a complaint, LDAF staff will begin an investigation and promptly obtain pertinent information from the complainant and the alleged pesticide applicator. Such information may include:

  1. Who/what was injured/damaged
  2. Where the damage occurred
  3. What are the symptoms of injury/damage
  4. Date and time that the pesticide misuse or exposure occurred
  5. Who is responsible
  6. What pesticide product may be involved

LDAF District Office Map & Contacts

Advisory Commission on Pesticides Hearings

The Advisory Commission on Pesticides is a statutory commission that advises the Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry on registration and disposal of pesticides, qualifications for licenses, certificates, and permits required to engage in business or sell or apply pesticides, and to hold hearings and conduct investigations and advise the commissioner on the civil penalties or the injunctive relief to violators.

Advisory Commission on Pesticides Meeting Minutes

  • 07/27/2011
  • 03/17/2011
  • 10/21/2010
  • 03/24/2010
  • 10/28/2009
  • 07/29/2009
  • 03/11/2009
  • 10/22/2008
  • 07/23/2008
  • 03/26/2008

Related Sites

Association of American Pest Control Officials (AAPCO)
Association of Structural Pest Control Regulatory Officials (ASPCRO)
Environmental Protection Agency – Pesticide Division
EPA Pesticide Container/Containment Rule Implementation
Louisiana Mosquito Control Association
Louisiana Pest Management Association
LSU AgCenter
National Pest Management Association
National EPA Pesticides and Endangered Species Program
USDA Agricultural Marketing Service: Pesticide Record-keeping Program

Structural Pest Control Programs
Structural Pest Control Commission: State Law, LDAF Rules & Regulations: General Pest Control, Commercial Vertebrate Control, Termite Control & Fumigation of Structures, Ships & Commodities

The Structural Pest Control Commission serves to protect the interests, health, safety, and welfare of the Louisiana public through rules and regulations pertaining to structural pest control in the state.

These rules and regulations include but are not limited to – rules and regulations for governing the different phases of the structural pest control operator’s license, to provide minimum specifications for the application of pesticides for the control of specific structural pests, for governing the transportation and handling of pesticides and pesticide application equipment, and for governing the treatment of pesticide residues and the handling and disposal of solid wastes generated in the course of structural pest control work.

Structural Pest Control Monthly Reporting

The Structural Pest Control (SPC) licensee must report to the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry all termite contracts, wood destroying insect reports and termite perimeter applications completed each month on a form provided by the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry. The reports are due in the Division of Pesticide and Environmental Programs Office in Baton Rouge on or before the tenth of the month following the contract or application.

You may submit your SPC monthly reporting forms two ways:

  1. Online via the new SPC Online Monthly Reporting Website OR
  2. Click HERE to download the forms, once complete, they can be printed and submitted to the Structural Pest Control Commission.

Structural Pest Control Forms

Structural Pest Control Law (RS 3:3361-3377)

Structural Pest Control, Rules and Regulations, State Register, Title 7, Part XXV (Website)

Structural Pest Control Licensee

The different phases for structural pest control license include:

  • General Pest Control
  • Commercial Vertebrate Control
  • Termite Control
  • Structural Fumigation
  • Commodity Fumigation
  • Ship Fumigation

The following qualifications must be met before an applicant for a structural pest control license can test for licensure in the various phases:

  • A degree from an accredited four-year college or university with a major in entomology, or
  • A degree from an accredited four-year college or university with at least twelve semester hours of coursework in entomology and at least one year of experience as a registered technician under the supervision of a licensee in the license phase for which the applicant desires to take the examination, or
  • Four years of experience as a registered technician under the supervision of a licensee in the licensee phase for which the applicant desires to take the examination, or
  • Four years of experience as a technician under the supervision of a structural pest control operator in another state in the licensee phase for which the applicant desires to take the examination. Experience with an out of state structural pest control operator shall be substantiated by evidence acceptable to the commission.
  • To obtain a license in ship fumigation, an applicant must posses one of above qualifications or have experience as a certified ship fumigation technician having completed 200 jobs in ship fumigation working under the supervision of a licensed ship fumigator
  • To obtain a license in termite control, the above qualifications are required in addition to completion of a commission approved comprehensive termite training program.

Structural Pest Control Technician

A Structural Pest Control Technician is a non-licensed person engaged in pest control work.

A technician can be registered in the following phases only if he is supervised by a licensee in that phase.

The different phases for structural pest control technician include:

  • General Pest Control
  • Commercial Vertebrate Control
  • Termite Control
  • Structural Fumigation
  • Commodity Fumigation
  • Ship Fumigation
  • Salesperson
  • WDIR

The following qualifications must be met before an applicant for a structural pest control technician can test for licensure in the various phases:

  • A licensee must register every technician under his supervision with the commission within thirty days after the commencement of the employee’s employment and shall test as required.
  • A technician has to successfully complete an examination. Each registered technician shall take the examination within ninety days of the date he was employed. If the registered technician fails to pass the examination within ninety days after he is employed, he shall be allowed to work as a registered technician for another ninety days during which time he shall take the examination again. If the registered technician fails to pass the examination within the one hundred eighty days after he is employed, he shall not be allowed to work as a registered technician until he has passed the examination.

Structural Pest Control Citizen Complaints

If you believe a structural pest control company has performed pest control work that does not meet the state minimum specifications or if you believe you have been affected by a pesticide use or misuse, you may file a pesticide related complaint with one of our AES district offices.

The district office will assign an inspector to meet with you to investigate your complaint. Complaints should be reported soon after your discovery to insure sufficient information can be gathered in an investigation.

Agriculture and Environmental Sciences District Offices Map

District Offices

Alexandria: 318-487-5090
District Manager: Bryan Bridges
Parishes: Avoyelles, Grant, Natchitoches, LaSalle, Rapides, Sabine, Vernon

Baton Rouge: 225-922-1337
District Manager: Tina Peltier
Parishes: Ascension, Assumption, East Feliciana, West Feliciana, East Baton Rouge, West Baton Rouge, Iberville, Lafourche, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Helena, St. James, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, Washington

Crowley: 337-788-7529
District Manager: Craig Callahan
Parishes: Acadia, Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jefferson Davis

Monroe: 318-345-7595
District Manager: George Shepherd
Parishes: Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Ease Carroll, West Carroll, Richland, Tensas, Union, Winn

New Orleans: 504-286-1125
District Manager: Milton Schleismann
Parishes: Jefferson, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. John the Baptist

Opelousas: 337-948-0230
District Manager: Richard Arceneaux
Parishes: Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, Vermillion

Shreveport: 318-949-3225
District Manager: Louis Leonards
Parishes: Bossier, Bienville, Caddo, Claiborne, Desoto, Red River, Webster

Structural Pest Control Recertification Meetings

A Licensee must maintain his/her commercial applicator certification in current status by:

  • Attending a continuing educational program for recertification approved by the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry.
  • Recertification at least one every three years shall be completed by December 31 of the year preceding the third anniversary of either the original certification or the most recent recertification.
  • A minimum of six hours of technical training which shall include but not limited to the categories of general pest control, commercial vertebrate control, termite control and WDIR
  • A minimum of six hours of technical training for the category of fumigation

A Technician must maintain his/her registration in current status by:

  • Participate in continuing education programs as a condition at least once annually between July 1 through June 30
  • Each program must be a minimum of one hour in length per category in which the technician is registered

Calendar of Recertification Meetings

Structural Pest Control Commission and Hearings

The Structural Pest Control Commission is a statutory commission that administers the provisions of Part VI, Structural Pest Control of the Louisiana Pesticide Law. Those provisions include adopting Rules and Regulations for qualifications and examinations for licenses, registration, and permits required to engage in business or apply pesticides for structural pest control work and to hold hearings and conduct investigations and impose civil penalties or the injunctive relief to violators.

Structural Pest Control Commission Members

Mike Strain, D.V.M.
5825 Florida Blvd
Baton Rouge, La 70806

Todd Parker
5825 Florida Blvd
Baton Rouge, La 70806

Timothy “Tim” Schowalter, Ph.D.
404 Life Sciences Bldg., LSU
Baton Rouge, La 70894

Dan Foster
6610 W Main
Houma, La 70360

Robert Kunst
1980 Surgi
Mandeville, La 70448

Meeting Minutes & Notices

Meeting minutes and notices are now available at La. Division of Administration’s website HERE

  • 04/14/2011
  • 01/20/2011
  • 12/21/2010
  • 10/01/2010
  • 08/03/2010
  • 04/15/2010
  • 01/28/2010
  • 10/08/2009
  • 08/10/2009
  • 07/09/2009
  • 04/22/2009
  • 01/22/2009
  • 10/08/2008
  • 07/30/2008
  • 04/09/2008
  • 01/30/2008

Structural Pest Control Fee Schedule

Place of Business Permit

  • Annual fee of $125.00 for two employees or less. $175.00 for two or more employees
  • Licensed pest control operators: $5.00 per phase
  • Certified fumigation technician: $5.00 per phase
  • Technicians/ salesperson: $20.00 for each technician

Technician Registration Application

  • $25.00 technician examination fee
  • $20.00 administration processing of registration fee
  • $10.00 change of employment or duplicate card fee

Licensee Testing

  • $50.00 per phase

Monthly Reports

  • Wood Destroying Insect Eradication Report
    • $8.00 per contract for fumigation, pretreat, post construction, spot treatment and bait treatment
    • $8.00 per contract for a combination spot and bait
  • Wood Destroying Insect Report
    • $8.00 per inspection

Approved Termiticides and Manufacturers

Emergency Rule Trench and Treat

Summary Report on LAC 7:XXV.Chapter 1 (Wood destroying insect reports, above ground termite bait stations; pesticide container and containment; rule changes and declaratory rulings.)

Related Sites

Association of American Pest Control Officials (AAPCO)
Association of Structural Pest Control Regulatory Officials (ASPCRO)
Environmental Protection Agency – Pesticide Division
EPA Pesticide Container/Containment Rule Implementation
Louisiana Mosquito Control Association
Louisiana Pest Management Association
LSU AgCenter
National Pest Management Association
National EPA Pesticides and Endangered Species Program
USDA Agricultural Marketing Service: Pesticide Record-keeping Program

Structural Pest Control 800 Pretreatment Call Numbers

The Structural Pest Control Commission (SPCC) has create a convenient cost-free way for pest control operators to call in pre-treatment applications across the state. All pre-treatment of slabs must shall be called or faxed to the department’s district office in which the pretreat occurs, a minimum of 1 hour prior to beginning the application of termiticides. The information provided shall include treatment company name; treatment structure street address, city, parish; directions to the property being pre-treated; date and time of beginning the application of termiticides to the property; square or linear footage of each structure to be treated; and number of structures. All pest control operators shall keep a log of all pretreats including the information noted.

The following is a list of parishes in each of the department’s seven district offices. Pre-treatments in a parish shall be called into the corresponding district office.

  • Shreveport District―Caddo, Bossier, Webster, Claiborne, Bienville, Red River, and Desoto.
  • Monroe District―Union, Morehouse, West Carroll, East Carroll, Madison, Richland, Ouachita, Lincoln, Jackson, Winn, Caldwell, Franklin, Tensas, Concordia, and Catahoula.
  • Alexandria District―Sabine, Natchitoches, Grant, LaSalle, Avoyelles, Rapides, and Vernon.
  • Crowley District―Beauregard, Allen, Acadia, Jefferson Davis, Cameron, Calcasieu.
  • Opelousas District―Evangeline, St. Landry, St. Martin, Iberia, St. Mary, Vermillion, and Lafayette.
  • Baton Rouge District―Pointe Coupee, West Feliciana, East Feliciana, St. Helena, Tangipahoa, Washington, St. Tammany, Livingston, St. James, Lafourche, Terrebonne, Assumption, Ascension, Iberville, West Baton Rouge, and East Baton Rouge.
  • New Orleans District―St. John the Baptist, St. Charles, Jefferson, Orleans, St. Bernard, and Plaquemines.

Alexandria: 877.759.6180
Baton Rouge: 877.936.2920
Crowley: 877.759.7199
Monroe: 877.759.7202
New Orleans: 877.759.6176
Opelousas: 877.759.7203
Shreveport: 877.759.7204

Pesticide/Structural Pest Control Forms

(Pesticide forms are in the Adobe Reader PDF format. To view or print these forms you’ll need the Adobe Reader software, a free download available. Click on the forms below to download and print.)

Pesticide Consultant Certification

  • Agricultural Consultant Qualification Application for Testing
  • Application for Testing for Agricultural Consultant

Pesticide Licensing

Consultant License Application

Other Forms

Structural Pest Control Forms

(Structural Pest Control forms are in a Protected Microsoft Word format. These forms require Microsoft Word 2003 or higher. The shaded (gray) areas on the forms should be completed on computer in the Microsoft Word format. Once complete, the forms can then be printed and submitted to the Structural Commission. Click on the form below to open the document.)

Licensee and Technician Forms

SPC Monthly Reporting Forms

or

Place of Business Forms

School Integrated Pest Management (IPM)

School Pesticide Safety

The Louisiana legislature finds that the exposure of school children to pesticides poses known and, as of yet, unknown risks to their health and well-being. Providing controls on the application of these pesticides will help to ensure the safety and well-being of children in the state.

The ABCs of the School Pesticide Safety Law

Basic Pesticide Safety Requirements for Schools:

  1. An Integrated Pest Management (IPM) plan shall be submitted to the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry on August 1 on an annual basis. The plan shall be available for review, upon request, by the commissioner and the general public, during normal school hours, at each school, in the business office. The annual IPM plan shall include, but not be limited to the following: SCHOOL IPM PLAN (by August 1)
    1. School name, mailing address, physical address, telephone number and contact person;
    2. Name and license # of company(s) and certification # of applicators, if contracted;
    3. Name and certification number of certified commercial applicator(s) of school system;
    4. Brand name and EPA registration number for each pesticide to be used;
    5. List for each pesticide to be used:
      1. Pest to be controlled,
      2. Type of application to be used,
      3. Location of application,
      4. Restricted use pesticide (RUP) or general use pesticide (GUP);
    6. Proposed location and date for non-certified applicator training;
    7. Other methods of pest control.
  2. Records of applications shall be maintained by the school and submitted with the annual IPM plan to the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry and shall contain:
    1. Certified applicator #, or if contracted – business name and certified applicator #;
    2. Product/brand name of pesticide;
    3. EPA registration number;
    4. RUP or general use pesticide;
    5. Application date;
    6. Type of application;
    7. Location of application;
    8. Size of area treated;
    9. Rate of application;
    10. Total amount of pesticide applied;
    11. Applicator name, if different from the certified applicator.
  3. If a school employee is applying any pesticide (including Roundup or Wasp Spray) in, on, or around school structures and grounds, he/she shall be a certified non-fee commercial applicator in Category 7D (Non-Fee School Employee) or under the direct supervision of a 7D certified non-fee commercial applicator. Schools have the option to contract all pesticide applications with pest control companies.
  4. If school system employees are applying pesticides, then the law requires systems with less than 10 schools to have at least one employee certified as a commercial applicator in Category 7D and school systems with 10 or more schools to have a minimum of two certified applicators.
  5. School employees certified in Category 7D shall annually train all persons (maintenance and janitorial staff) applying pesticides under supervision in the proper handling, storage, use, application and disposal of pesticides.
  6. Pesticides shall be applied for general pest control inside school buildings or restricted use pesticides to buildings or grounds only during periods when students are not expected to be present for normal academic instruction or organized extracurricular activity for at least (8) eight hours after the application.
  7. A hypersensitive student registry shall be maintained at each school. This registry shall contain the names of students whose parents have submitted a written statement to the school stating that the student is hypersensitive to pesticides, accompanied by written verification of the hypersensitivity by a licensed physician.
  8. Additions to the pesticide products to be used or other deviations from the submitted annual integrated pest management plan shall be forwarded in writing to the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry at least twenty-four hours before any pesticide application. Notifications can be faxed to (225) 925-3760 to the Director of Pesticide and Environmental Programs.

SUBMIT IPM PLAN (Downloadable School IPM Packet Below) TO THE LDAF OFFICIAL LISTED BELOW:

IPM State Brochure (PDF, 991KB)
Baton Rouge Parents Magazine “Pesticides In Our Schools? Are Our Children Safe?” Article
“LDAF Works to Keep School Students, Staff Safe” Market Bulletin Article
Reducing Pesticide Exposure at Schools (PDF, 325 KB)

Formosan Termite Initiative

The Formosan subterranean termite is eating away at Louisiana at a cost of $500 million annually. Estimated annual cost of Formosan subterranean termite infestation treatment, damage and repairs are an $300 million in the Greater New Orleans area alone.

In the spring of 2000 the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry under the direction of the Formosan Termite Task Force launched an extensive tree treatment program in Greater New Orleans and Lake Charles to stop the invasion of the Formosan subterranean termite.

Between the years 2000 and 2007, the tree treatment program has treated more than 168,000 trees with the of goal of reducing termites in trees, reducing termite infestations to manageable levels and ensuring all citizens a home whereby they can live a full life, raise a family and retire, without fear of the Formosan subterranean termite destroying their investments.

<<Back to Pesticide & Environmental Programs