Search Our Site...

Scanners/Price Verification Inspections

Many Louisiana stores use electronic scanners to compute sales at the check-out counter, which is linked to a computer where product prices are stored.  Scanners are either hand-held or on the counter and the clerk runs the scanner over the price tag. The scanner reads a code on the product and the computer displays the price.

Louisiana consumers are to be charged the price that is advertised, posted, or displayed for an item offered for sale.  Weights and Measures employees inspect scanners annually to verify that prices charged for scanned items reflect the advertised, posted, or displayed price for those items.  When a scanned item produces a price that is either over or under the advertised, posted, or displayed price, it is considered an error.

Louisiana Law (LRS 3:4607) requires Weights and Measures inspectors to inspect and test all scanning devices to ensure that prices are posted for items offered for sale and the prices are accurate.

To help defray the cost of these inspections, Louisiana law and regulations allow the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry to charge an annual fee for registering these devices.  The annual fee is listed below.

Category# of Scanners (each location)Total Fee (not per scanner)
CMore than 25$150

Click here to pay online

A state charge of $3.00 for electronic commerce will be added to your invoice in accordance with Louisiana Revised Statute 49:316.1

Each year a Weights and Measures inspector will conduct a price verification inspection to determine that at least a 98% accuracy rate is met.  If the inspection results in an accuracy rate below 98%, additional inspections will be conducted. After two failing inspections, a formal warning letter may be issued.  If the location remains out of compliance, the business may be brought before the Weights and Measures Commission and civil penalties may be imposed.

If you have any questions regarding these matters, please contact the Weights and Measures Division of the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry at 225-925-3780.