
FERTILIZER REGISTRATION AND QUARTERLY 

TONNAGE REPORTS INSTRUCTIONS 

In accordance with Louisiana Fertilizer Law R.S. 3:1411 et seq., and the Rules and 
Regulations of the  Louisiana Administrative Code Title 7; Part X1 Sections 101 - 133, 
all companies that manufacture or ship fertilizer into the state of Louisiana must both 
register as a fertilizer manufacturer and file quarterly tonnage reports with the Louisiana 
Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission to the Louisiana Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry’s Agricultural Chemistry Division. 
 
All shipments must be invoiced as a grade by each manufacturer or mixer. Each 
manufacturer or mixer must pay a tonnage fee on ALL sales. 
 
All shipments must have proper guaranteed analysis identification on bags and a copy 
of the shipping ticket or an invoice when the shipment is made in bulk. A copy of the 
shipping ticket, giving complete information, must accompany delivery vehicle. 
Fertilizer-pesticide combinations must be registered under both laws, and the name and 
percent of pesticide active ingredients must be shown on the delivery ticket. 
 

Online Registration, Tonnage Reporting & Payment Service 
CLICK HERE TO ACCESS ONLINE SERVICES 

 
The following information is required to access online services: 

 Established Username and Password, or 

 Register using the USAPlants ID and Pin # located on the renewal and tonnage 
forms 

 Valid email address 

 Bank or Credit Card information 
 
A state charge of $3.00 for electronic commerce will be added to your invoice in 
accordance with Louisiana Revised Statute 49:316.1 
 
For Fertilizer Program assistance, contact us at fertilizerldaf@ldaf.state.la.us or 
225.342.5812. 

 
 
Registration 
 

Each person who manufactures, sells, or offers fertilizer for sale under his name or 
brand is required to register with the commission.  Registration must be renewed 
annually by January 1st of each year (Louisiana Fertilizer Law R.S. 3:1413(A). If you 
have not already provided your fertilizer product labels to us, or if you have any new 
products, please submit them with your application for registration.   
 

Application for Fertilizer Registration 
 

Applications should be mailed to: 

Louisiana Department of Agriculture & Forestry  

Agricultural Chemistry Division 

Room 102 Ag Chemistry Building 

http://legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=726841
http://www.doa.la.gov/pages/osr/lac/books.aspx
http://legis.la.gov/Legis/BoardMembers.aspx?boardId=958
http://legis.la.gov/Legis/BoardMembers.aspx?boardId=958
https://usaplantsla.ldaf.state.la.us/USAPlantsLA/SecurityLogin.aspx
mailto:fertilizerldaf@ldaf.state.la.us
http://legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=726846
http://www.ldaf.state.la.us/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/AES-27-08-Application-for-Registration-of-Fertilizers.pdf
http://www.ldaf.state.la.us/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/AES-27-08-Application-for-Registration-of-Fertilizers.pdf


110 LSU Union Square 

Baton Rouge, LA  70803-0001 
 

Small Package Goods Exception (Louisiana Fertilizer Law R.S. 3:1413(C)(1)) 
 

“Small packages” is defined as less than 5 gallons of liquid fertilizer and less than 50 

pounds of dry material.  Fertilizer manufacturers who intend to sell only small packages, 

not to exceed a total of 100 tons per year, must sign the statement under the ‘small 

package goods exception’ part of the registration application form or click the 

corresponding check box in the online system. A $100.00 fee is required at the time of 

registration for the exception and is in lieu of quarterly inspection fees; however, 

accurate quarterly tonnage reports must still be submitted to our office.  Any sales over 

100 tons will be subject to the $1.00 per ton inspection fee. 

Applications and fees for the small package goods exception should be mailed to: 

Louisiana Department of Agriculture & Forestry 

Agricultural Chemistry Division  

c/o LDAF Revenue 

5825 Florida Blvd. Suite 1003 

Baton Rouge, LA 70806 

 
Quarterly Tonnage Reports 
 

All registered fertilizer manufacturers must timely submit accurate quarterly tonnage 

reports even if there were no sales during the quarter.  The inspection fee is $1.00 per 

ton; the minimum fee is $10.00 per quarter. The inspection fee must be paid to the 

commission on all fertilizers sold and submitted with the quarterly tonnage reports.  The 

inspection fee is only required to be paid once on each lot of fertilizer sold.  Checks 

should be made payable to the Louisiana Department of Agriculture & Forestry (LDAF). 

LA R.S. 3:1413(C) provides that tonnage reports and inspection fees shall be due and 

payable on the first day of October, the first day of January, the first day of April, and the 

first day of July.   

    Quarter:  Quarterly Period:             Late if received on or after: 
First July 1st thru September 30th October 31st 

Second October 1st thru December 31st January 31st 

Third January 1st thru March 31st May 1st 

Fourth April 1st thru June 30th July 31st 
 

The quarter ending dates are September 30th (1st quarter), December 31st (2nd 

quarter), March 31st (3rd quarter) and June 30th (4th quarter).  Reports and fees are late 

if not received or postmarked by October 31st (1st quarter), January 31st (2nd quarter), 

April 30th (3rd quarter) and July 31st (4th quarter).  Late reports must be accompanied 

by a penalty payment of 10% of the $1.00 per ton inspection fee.  If payment is not 

made within thirty days after the due date, the amount of fees due plus the penalty shall 

constitute a debt and shall become the basis for a judgment against the registrant.  

http://legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=726846
http://legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=726846


Late or not received tonnage reports may be cause for charges to be issued 

against the company for violations of the Louisiana Fertilizer Law and the 

company will be subject to appear at an adjudicatory hearing before the 

Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission.  All companies (including those 

that pay the $100 fee for selling small packages only) are required to submit 

quarterly tonnage reports for all four quarters even if nothing was sold during a 

quarter. The commission may impose a civil penalty of not more than $500.00 per 

violation of the Louisiana Fertilizer Law at an administrative adjudicatory hearing 

(R.S. 3:1417 & R.S. 3:1418). 

Reports should be typed or written in legible ink.  The registrant’s USAPlants ID Number 

must be written on each report on the line titled “USAPlants ID Number.”  The full name 

and address of the firm must be listed.  The quarter ending date and the date submitted 

must be written on all reports and all reports must be signed. 

Parish Code:  Use the parish code for each parish from the “parish code sheet” listing 

the Louisiana parishes.  Parish codes must be written for each entry – no ditto marks 

please. 

Guaranteed Analysis:  For Mixed Grades and Materials, enter analyses in all three 

columns using two digits. 

  Example: N P K 

    00 00 60 

    00 54 00 

UFTRS Code: Enter the correct UFTRS code for Nitrogen, Phosphate, and Potash. 

 Examples: 

 Nitrogen 

 82-00-00 02 (liquid) 

Phosphate 

 18-46-00 203 (dry) 

 Potash 

 00-00-60 428 (dry) 

Enter codes for Micronutrients as follows: 

 Iron Chelate 

00-00-0  730 
 

http://legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?p=y&d=726854
http://legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?p=y&d=726854


Do not put a code if a micronutrient is added to the blended fertilizer.  Please use only 

UFTRS codes. 

Tons Sold: Tons sold must be computed to the second decimal (i.e. 12.50, 8.00); do not 

use fractions. 

For multiple page reports:  Please subtotal each page under the tonnage amount 

keeping a running total of all tonnage sold.  Enter the total tonnage sold, the amount of 

the fee, the total penalty (if applicable), and the total remitted on the first page of the 

report. 

Computer reports submitted with the Quarterly Report Forms: All computer reports 

submitted with report forms MUST have prior approval from this office.  The report 

should carry the same columns and follow the same remittance instructions as the 

report forms provided to you and should be approximately the same size.  The form 

should not have any unnecessary information. 

Other than those specifically required by these instructions, no zeros should be entered 

in any of the spaces for which no transactions were made. 

 
 

File Name File Type 

Quarterly Report of Fertilizer Tonnage PDF 

Fertilizer Registration and Quarterly Tonnage Reports Instructions PDF 

Uniform Fertilizer Tonnage Reporting System (UFTRS) Codes PDF 

Parish Codes File PDF 

 
 

Applications and fees for the small package goods exception should be mailed to: 

Louisiana Department of Agriculture & Forestry 

Agricultural Chemistry Division  

c/o LDAF Revenue 

5825 Florida Blvd. Suite 1003 

Baton Rouge, LA 70806 

 

http://www.ldaf.state.la.us/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/Blank-Fertilizer-Tonnage.pdf
http://www.ldaf.state.la.us/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/2016-FERTILIZER-REGISTRATION-AND-QUARTERLY-TONNAGE-REPORTS-instructions.pdf
http://www.ldaf.state.la.us/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/UFTRS-FERTILIZER-CODES.pdf

