LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY
LEGISLATIVE OVERSIGHT REPORT

RE:  Office of Animal Health and Food Safety; Louisiana Egg Commission
Sale or Offering for Sale of Eggs within Louisiana (LAC 7:V.919)

This report is submitted electronically to the President of the Senate, Speaker of the House of Representatives,
and the Senate and House Committees on Agriculture, Forestry, Aquaculture and Rural Development, in
accordance with. R.S. 49:968 regarding the intent of the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, through the
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, to take the proposed action with regard to the above cited rule.

I. THE PROPOSED ACTION

The proposed rule amends LAC 7:V.919(F)(3) by changing the fee that shall accompany an application for
licensure or renewal from $10 to $100. The legislature, by passage of Act 523 of the 2003 Regular Session of
the Louisiana Legislature, changed the fee from $10 to $100. However, Rule 919(F)(3) was never updated to
reflect this legislative change. The department has been charging $100 as the fee since the law changed in
2003. Therefore, this amendment is not going to result in a different amount being charged.

II. THE REASONS FOR THE PROPOSED ACTION
This amendment is necessary to make the amount set forth as a fee in the regulation consistent with the amount
provided for in R.S. 3:842.

III. STATUTORY AUTHORITY
The proposed action is authorized R.S. 3:842(A), as amended by Act 523 of the 2003 Regular Session of the
Louisiana Legislature, which provides as follows:

Except as otherwise provided by this Part, every person who produces, processes, distributes,
or sells eggs or egg products in Louisiana shall obtain a license to do so from the department.
Each license shall be renewed annually. Failure to obtain or renew a license, when required,
shall be a violation of this Part. An application for a license, or for a renewal, shall be on a
form furnished by the department and shall furnish such information as the commissioner
shall deem reasonably pertinent. A fee of one hundred dollars shall accompany each license
application and renewal.

IV.ATTACHMENTS

A. The proposed action coded with any new rule or language underscored and with language to be deleted
from an existing rule in struck-through type.

B. A copy of the fiscal and economic impact statement approved by the Legislative Fiscal Office.

C. A copy of the Notice of Intent filed with the State Register.
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