LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY

MIKE STRAIN DVM, COMMISSIONER
ANIMAL HEALTH & FOOD SAFETY, 5825 FLORIDA BLVD, STE 4000, Baton Rouge, LA 70806
(225) 925-3980, Fax (225) 237-5555

Louisiana Regulations for 4-H and FFA Shows
2018

A. Health Certificate

1.

2.

5.

Health certificates are required for entry into all LSU AgCenter 4-H and FFA livestock shows in

Louisiana.

Health certificates written for livestock movement to another state (interstate movement) are

subject to the federal Animal Disease Traceability law that requires all animals to be individually

listed with Official Identification on an Official Health Certificate. Livestock moving interstate
must also meet the entry requirements of the destination state.

Health certificates are required for entry into all LSU AgCenter 4-H and FFA livestock shows in

Louisiana. However, health certificates that are written for livestock movement within the state

(intrastate movement) are subject to state rules so Louisiana has allowed some exemptions for

official identification and health certificates written for LSU AgCenter 4-H and FFA shows

only.

LDAF/LSU AgCenter guidelines for intrastate movement to Louisiana 4-H and FFA Shows are:

a) Original or copy of an official health certificate is required for each family.

b) In-state health certificates are valid for 60 days and must be written by a Category 1I
accredited veterinarian.

¢) More than one owner will be allowed on the health certificate if the Shipper/Consignor is
identified as the Parish AgCenter (parish of origin, i.e. Acadia Parish AgCenter) with the
parish AgCenter address.

d) More than one destination will be allowed on the health certificate if the Receiver/Consignee
is identified as LA 4-H/FFA Show Circuit.

e) More than one species will be allowed on each health certificate. Animals must be
individually identified and listed on the health certificate or on an attached spreadsheet.

f) Livestock identification that may be used by the accredited veterinarian to write a health
certificate to 4-H and FFA Shows are:

e USDA Metal “Brite Tags” or calfhood vaccination tags

840 RFID tags

Microchips

Scrapie Tags

Leg bands

Breed registry tattoos, breed registry brands, or breed registry ear notches IF breed

registry documents accompany the animal shipment

e LA Show Tags issued by the LSU AgCenter for commercial and market animals for
intrastate exhibitors only

*Note to Accredited Veterinarians:

a) If an animal is presented for a health certificate before the LA Show Tag has been issued,
then an official ID tag must be applied to the animal to write the certificate or you must wait
until the show tag has been issued. Ear notching is NOT acceptable identification for swine
unless it is a breed registered ear notch and breed registry papers must accompany the health
certificate.
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b) If an animal is presented for a health certificate by a single family, then the standard one
family, one destination health certificate should be written. It is valid for 60 days if it is
written for an LSU AgCenter show. The parish-wide certificate is a convenience for the
Parish County Agent and attending veterinarian to coordinate multiple families and multiple
species with a group veterinary visit.

¢) The veterinarian must make a visual inspection of all animals listed on the health certificate.

6. Health certificates may be checked by LDAF personnel at district and state shows.
7. Regulatory personnel may be walking through barns and checking animals and papers at shows.

B. Species Requirements

1. Cattle

a) Cattle entering Louisiana shows or fairs must have the following: valid health certificate with
the animal identification clearly written on the health certificate.
b) Health Certificate

2. Horses

Must be signed by Category II accredited veterinarian.

Animal identification (not just the registration number) of each animal should be
clearly stated on the health certificate.

Official animal identification accepted for cattle in Louisiana includes: USDA metal
ID tags (silver Brite tags or orange OCV tags), 840 RFID tags, official breed registry
tattoos, and official breed registry brands if breed registries accompany the health
certificate.

LA Show Tags issued by the LSU AgCenter will be accepted as official identification
at LSU shows only.

Multiple cattle may be listed on one health certificate.

This health certificate is valid for 60 days from the date of issue to cover the period of
the show season for Louisiana 4H and FFA animals.

a) Horses entering Louisiana shows or fairs must have the following: valid health certificate
with the animal identification clearly written on the health certificate and a negative test for
Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA), commonly called a Coggin’s Test. *NOTE: a nursing foal
under 7 months of age accompanying its dam is exempt from having a Coggin’s Test.

b) Health Certificate

Must be signed by Category II accredited veterinarian.

Animal identification (not just the registration number) of each animal should be
clearly stated on the health certificate.

Official animal identification accepted for horses in Louisiana includes: accurate
physical description, electronic ID (microchip), digital photo plus animal description,
brand, or tattoo.

Multiple horses may be listed on one health certificate.

This health certificate is valid for 60 days from the date of issue to cover the period of
the show season for Louisiana 4H and FFA animals.

¢) EIA Test

Each horse must have a negative Coggin’s Test within the past 12 months, unless a
nursing foal under 7 months of age with its dam.

Test results may be written on the health certificate by the veterinarian or the VS 9-10
test chart should accompany the horse.

The EIA test chart should contain an accurate description of the horse and also for
Louisiana horses a permanent id such as microchip number, brand, or tattoo.



d) Foals not nursing on dam must be tested for EIA by one (1) year of age if traveling to a
show.

e) Itis strongly recommended that horses are vaccinated for Equine Encephalitis (EEE, WEE,
VEE), Tetanus, West Nile Virus (WNV), and Equine Herpes (EHV-1).

. Poultry

a) Poultry entering Louisiana shows or fairs must have the following: valid health certificate
with the animal identification clearly written on the health certificate and a negative test for
Salmonella pullorum and Salmonella gallinarum (pullorum/typhoid) or originate from a
NPIP certified flock.

b) *NOTE: Broilers only need a health certificate because they originate from NPIP certified
flocks.

¢) Health Certificate

® Must be signed by Category II accredited veterinarian.

¢ Animal identification of each bird should be clearly stated on the health certificate.

e Official animal identification accepted for poultry in Louisiana includes: leg bands or
Group Identification Number (GIN). *NOTE: GIN is a unique number used to
identify a “unit of animals” managed together; call LDAF for more information.

® Multiple birds may be listed on one health certificate.

e This health certificate is valid for 60 days from the date of issue to cover the period of
the show season for Louisiana 4H and FFA animals.

d) Salmonella Test (individual bird or flock)

¢ Each bird must have a negative test for Salmonella pullorum and Salmonella
gallinarum (pullorum/typhoid) dated within 60 days prior to the show, or

e The flock of origin must be certified Salmonella pullorum and Salmonella gallinarum
(pullorum/typhoid) free under the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) within
the past year.

e Test results or flock NPIP certification status may be written on the health certificate
by the veterinarian or the official Form VS 9-2 should accompany the bird.

e [dentification of each bird is recommended by leg band with the identification listed
on the VS 9-2 form.

. Swine

a) Swine entering Louisiana shows or fairs must have the following: valid health certificate
with the animal identification clearly written on the health certificate.
b) Health Certificate
e Must be signed by Category II accredited veterinarian.
¢ Animal identification of each pig should be clearly stated on the health certificate.
¢ Official animal identification accepted for swine in Louisiana includes: official
USDA metal eartag, 840 RFID eartags, purebred registry ear notches, and registered
tattoos if breed registry papers accompany shipment (*NOTE: farm management
ear notching is not acceptable ID for health certificates).
e LA Show Tags issued by the LSU AgCenter will be accepted as official identification
for LSU shows only.
e Multiple pigs may be listed on one health certificate.
¢ This health certificate is valid for 60 days from the date of issue to cover the period of
the show season for Louisiana 4H and FFA animals.

. Sheep and Goats

a) Sheep and goats entering Louisiana shows or fairs must have the following: valid health
certificate with the animal identification clearly written on the health certificate
b) Health Certificate



® Must be signed by Category II accredited veterinarian.

¢ Animal identification of each sheep or goat should be clearly stated on the health
certificate.

e Official animal identification accepted for sheep and goats in Louisiana includes:
official USDA Scrapie eartags, breed registry tattoos, and electronic implants
(microchips). *NOTE: microchips may only be used if sheep or goats originate from
a flock participating in the Scrapie Flock Certification Program (SFCP). These
animals must be accompanied by the SFCP certificate and their own microchip
reader. Certain breeds with tiny ears like Lamancha or Pygmy goats may use
microchips for ID if they are associated with an official USDA Scrapie eartag on the
health certificate and that Scrapie eartag must accompany the animal.

® Multiple sheep and goats may be listed on one health certificate.

¢ This health certificate is valid for 60 days from the date of issue to cover the period of
the show season for Louisiana 4H and FFA animals.

C. Heightened biosecurity should always be practiced at livestock shows. Hands should be washed
frequently with soap and water or with an alcohol-based hand cleaner after sneezing or contact
with animals. Clean manure off of footwear or equipment to minimize the spread of infectious
diseases. Always notify your veterinarian or show personnel if your animal becomes ill or if you
notice sick animals at the show.

D. *Final Note: it is a violation of federal law to remove official eartags from livestock. If a
veterinarian has applied the ID tag, it cannot be removed without permission from the State
Veterinarian’s Office. Call (225) 925-3980 if you have any questions.



