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FERTILIZER REGISTRATION AND QUARTERLY TONNAGE REPORTS 
 

 
All shipments must be sold with an invoice or label guaranteeing the grade of the 
fertilizer.  Mixed fertilizers must be guaranteed by the company that mixed the fertilizer.  
Fertilizer-pesticide combinations must be registered under both fertilizer and pesticide 
laws, and the name and percent of pesticide active ingredients must be shown on the 
delivery ticket. 
 

I. Application for Registration of Fertilizers: 
All applications for the registration of fertilizers must be received by January 1, 2016.  If 
you are no longer manufacturing or distributing fertilizer in the state of Louisiana and 
will not be registering with the LDAF for the 2016 year, please send us a letter stating 
that you wish to cancel your fertilizer registration.  If you have not already provided your 
fertilizer product labels to us, or if you have any new products, please submit them with 
your application for registration.  A USAPlants ID Number will be assigned to your 
company and sent to you once the registration process is complete.  
 
Applications should be mailed to: 
Louisiana Department of Agriculture & Forestry  
Agricultural Chemistry Division 
Room 102 Ag Chemistry Building 
110 LSU Union Square 
Baton Rouge, LA  70803-0001 
 
Small Package Goods Exception: 
“Small packages” is defined as less than 5 gallons of liquid fertilizer and less than 50 
pounds of dry material.  Fertilizer manufacturers who intend to sell only small packages, 
not to exceed a total of 100 tons per year, must sign the statement under the “small 
package goods exception” part of the registration application form and submit a $100.00 
registration fee.  Checks should be made payable to the Louisiana Department of 
Agriculture & Forestry (LDAF).  The registration fee is in lieu of the $1.00 per ton 
quarterly inspection fee; however, accurate quarterly tonnage reports must still be 
submitted to our office.  Any sales over 100 tons will be subject to the $1.00 per ton 
inspection fee. 
 
Applications and fees for the small package goods exception should be mailed to: 
Louisiana Department of Agriculture & Forestry 
Agricultural Chemistry Division  
5825 Florida Blvd 
Suite 1003 
Baton Rouge, LA  70806 
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II.  Quarterly Reports of Fertilizer Tonnage: 

All registered fertilizer manufacturers must timely submit four quarterly tonnage reports 
and inspection fees regardless of sales made.  If no sales were made during a quarter, a 
tonnage report indicating zero tons sold with the minimum fee of $10.00 must still be 
remitted. The quarterly inspection fee is $1.00 per ton with a minimum fee of $10.00 due 
per quarter. The inspection fee is only required to be paid once on each lot of fertilizer 
sold.  Checks should be made payable to the Louisiana Department of Agriculture & 
Forestry (LDAF). 
 
Companies that register under the small package goods exception are exempt from the 
$1.00 per ton inspection fee unless their sales exceed a total of 100 tons in the year.  In 
the event that companies registered under the small packages exception do exceed a total 
of 100 tons during the year, the $1.00 per ton inspection fee must be paid. 
 
      Quarter:              Quarterly Period:                 Late if received on or after: 
First July 1st thru September 30th October 31st 
Second October 1st thru December 31st January 31st 
Third January 1st thru March 31st May 1st 
Fourth April 1st thru June 30th July 31st 
 
R.S. 3:1413(C) provides that tonnage reports and inspection fees shall be due and payable 
on the first day October, the first of January, the first day of April and the first of July.  
The quarter ending dates are September 30th (first quarter), December 31st (second 
quarter), March 31st (third quarter) and June 30th  (fourth quarter).  Reports and fees are 
late if not received by October 31st (first quarter), January 31st (second quarter), April 30th 
(third quarter) and July 31st (fourth quarter).  Late reports must be accompanied by a 
penalty payment of 10% of the $1.00 per ton inspection fee.  If payment is not made 
within thirty days after the due date, the amount of fees due plus the penalty shall 
constitute a debt and shall become the basis for a judgment against the registrant.  The 
commission may impose a civil penalty up to $500.00 per violation of the Louisiana 
Fertilizer Law at an administrative adjudicatory hearing. 
 
Reports should be typed or written in legible ink.  The registrant’s USAPlants ID Number 
must be written on each report.  The full name and address of the firm must be listed.  
The quarter ending date and the date submitted must be written on all reports and all 
reports must be signed. 
 
Parish Code:  Use the corresponding parish code for each parish where fertilizer was 
sold.  Parish codes must be written for each entry – no ditto marks please. 
 
Guaranteed Analysis:  For Mixed Grades and Materials, enter analyses in all three 
columns using two digits. 
  Example: N P K 
    00 00 60 
    00 54 00 
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UFTRS Code: Enter the correct UFTRS code for Nitrogen, Phosphate, and Potash. 
 Examples: 
 Nitrogen 
 82-00-00 02 (liquid) 
 
  

Phosphate 
 18-46-00 203 (dry) 
 
 Potash 
 00-00-60 428 (dry) 
 
 Enter codes for Micronutrients as follows: 
 Iron Chelate 

00-00-0 730 
 
Do not put a code if the micronutrient is added to the blended fertilizer.  Please use only 
UFTRS codes. 
 
Tons Sold: Tons sold must be computed to the second decimal (i.e. 12.50, 8.00); do not 
use fractions. 
 
For multiple page reports:  Please subtotal each page under the tonnage amount keeping a 
running total of all tonnage sold.  Enter the total tonnage sold, the amount of the fee, the 
total penalty (if applicable), and the total remitted on the first page of the report. 
 
Computer reports submitted with the  Quarterly Report Forms: All computer reports 
submitted with report forms MUST have prior approval from this office.  The report 
should carry the same columns and follow the same remittance instructions as the report 
forms provided to you and should be approximately the same size.  The form should not 
have any unnecessary information. 
 
Other than those specifically required by these instructions, no zeros should be entered in 
any of the spaces for which no transactions were made. 
 
Quarterly Tonnage Reports and Fees should be mailed to: 
Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Agricultural Chemistry Division 
5825 Florida Blvd 
Suite 1003 
Baton Rouge, LA  70806 
 
Please direct all questions relative to fertilizer registration and quarterly tonnage reports 
to Lauren Boydstun or Angelle Pearson at 225.342.5812. 


