Thursday, July 24, 2014
Search Input

Browse By Audience
Browse By Subject
LDAF Press Release Current
Press Release

TitleSix Louisiana parishes designated as disaster areas
Release Date8/9/2011
Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M., said six Louisiana parishes have been declared disaster areas due to the flooding of the Mississippi River this past growing season.
Concordia, East Carroll, Madison, Tensas, East Feliciana and West Feliciana were declared disaster areas.
Strain said the disaster designation makes agricultural producers in these parishes eligible for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) program.
Producers in these parishes have eight months from the Aug. 8 declaration to apply for the emergency assistance.
Strain said the FSA will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses, security available and repayment ability
Farm operators should contact their local FSA office for more information.

What are the licensing requirements for a commodity warehouse?

What is the Plant Variety Protection Act and how does it affect me as a seedsman?

Need to file a public records request?

What are the responsibilities of a Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) supervisor?

Am I required to have a license to work on a commercial weighing or measuring device?

I Want To...
What's New
Copyright Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry 2011. All rights reserved. Privacy StatementTerms Of Use