Print

Louisiana Horticulture Commission

The purpose of the Horticulture Commission is to license and/or permit, and regulate persons engaged in horticultural businesses. The commission licenses individuals, through examination, for the following professions: Landscape Architect, Landscape Horticulturist, Landscape Irrigation Contractor, Arborist, Utility Arborist, Retail Florist, and Wholesale Florist. The commission also permits the occupations of Nursery Stock Dealer and Cut Flower Dealer.

The law authorizes the commission to govern the qualifications and practices of persons engaged in these professions and occupations, to prevent fraudulent practices, to encourage participation in continuing education and to ensure that only high quality products and services are provided to the public by green industry professionals.


Horticulture Commission Meetings

Meeting minutes may now be found at the Louisiana Division of Administration’s Boards and Commission page HERE

Horticulture Commission Law RS 3:3801-3816 (Website)
Horticulture Commission, Law, Rules and Regulations


Licensed Horticulture Professionals

(The links below are PDF files. To search within the PDF, use the search function of Adobe Acrobat Reader. Every effort has been made to ensure the lists are accurate up to the list date.

Landscape Contracting Jobs – Who Needs a License and for What?

Professionals List


Continuing Education Opportunities


Horticulture Commission

Landscape Horticulturists, Irrigation Contractor, Retail Florist, Wholesale Florist, Arborist & Utility Arborist Exam Info Packet:


Horticulture and Nursery Licenses and Permits

The Louisiana Horticulture Law states that no person shall receive fees, advertise, or solicit business in a regulated profession or occupation unless he/she holds the appropriate license or permit, or has a regular employee who holds the appropriate license or permit, or is employed by a person who holds the appropriate license or permit. For specifics on what each license or permit authorizes, see Section 3808 of the Horticulture Commission Law. All licensees are required to place at least one of their license numbers on all business related vehicles that have advertisements on them (Section 115 E of regulations).

Arborist License

Authorizes the holder to make recommendations or execute tree surgery type work including tree removal, pruning, trimming, cabling, fertilization and cavity work. Licensees must enter into a written contract with property owners specifying work to be done and sum to be paid.

Requirements:

  • Exam Schedule – By appointment
  • Exam Fee – $114
  • Certificate of Liability Insurance – $25,000 per person for bodily injury and $50,000 per person for property damage
  • Attendance of continuing education seminar annually for renewal of license.
  • License Fee – $100 per year
  • Exam Reference Material- “ARBORISTS’ CERTIFICATION STUDY GUIDE,” Third Edition, by Sharon J. Lilly, Copyright © 2010 by the International Society of Arboriculture. Books can be purchased online HERE
  • Exam Content Information

Utility Arborist License

Authorizes the holder to recommend and execute the removal of trees or portions of trees along utility rights of way.

Requirements:

  • Exam Schedule – By appointment
  • Exam Fee – $114
  • Certificate of Liability Insurance – $25,000 per person for bodily injury and $50,000 per person for property damages
  • Attendance of continuing education seminar annually for renewal of license.
  • License Fee – $100 per year
  • Exam Reference Material – “ARBORISTS’ CERTIFICATION STUDY GUIDE,” Third Edition, by Sharon J. Lilly, Copyright © 2010 by the International Society of Arboriculture. Books can be purchased online HERE
  • Exam Content Information

Landscape Architect License

Authorizes the holder to prepare landscape design plans, landscape grading and drainage plans, landscape irrigation plans, planting plans, and related landscape construction details and specifications, for a fee.

Requirements:         

  • National Exam: Register for the Landscape Architect Registration Exam (LARE) through the Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards (CLARB) www.clarb.org.
  • Louisiana Landscape Architect Examination
  • All applicants for the Louisiana State Section must pay a $200.00 exam fee.  Retake applicants must pay a $100.00 exam fee.
  • A minimum of 8 credit hours of continuing education must be obtained annually for license renewal.
  • License Fee – $100 per year.
  • Landscape Architect Continuing Education Certification Form

Landscape Horticulturist License

Authorizes the holder to recommend and execute measures for interior and exterior beautification through the use of nursery stock, may sell or lease and maintain nursery stock. Includes bed preparation, plant installation, sod installation, pruning, fertilizing, landscape maintenance and operating a nursery. Cannot draw landscape designs for a fee. May prepare drawings to indicate the placement of nursery stock. Must have licensees name, the words “Landscape Horticulturist”, and license number on all drawings. Yard work (cutting lawns, edging and hand-weeding beds) is not regulated by our department and does not require a license.

Requirements:

  • Exam Schedule – By appointment
  • Exam Fee – $114
  • License Fee – $100
  • Exam Reference Material- “THE LOUISIANA MANUAL FOR THE ENVIRONMENTAL HORTICULTURE INDUSTRY” by the Louisiana Nursery & Landscape Association, April 2014 Edition. Books can be purchased online HERE
  • Exam Content Information

Landscape Irrigation Contractor License

Authorizes the holder to construct, install, connect, repair, maintain, improve or alter any portion of a landscape irrigation system, including the required wiring for that system. Requires the licensee to obtain a water supply protection specialist endorsement from the State Plumbing Board before connecting to a public or private water supply system. Licensees must enter into a written contract with the property owner specifying the landscape irrigation services to be performed and the sum to be paid for the services.

Requirements:

  • Exam Schedule – By appointment
  • Exam Fee – $114
  • Certificate of Liability Insurance -$25,000 per person bodily injury and $50,000 per person for property damage
  • Attendance of continuing education seminar every three years for renewal of license.
  • License Fee – $100
  • Smart Technology Reference Material
  • Exam Content Information

Retail Florist License

Authorizes the holder to arrange and sell floral designs, cut flowers and ornamental plants. Does not include the sale of woody ornamentals, such as tall trees or fruit trees. Must have a regular employee (minimum of 32 hours per week) at each place of business who is a licensed florist. Does not apply to artificial materials or dried plant materials.

Requirements:

  • Exam Schedule – By appointment
  • Exam Fee – $114
  • License Fee – $100
  • Exam Reference Material- “FLOWERS: CREATIVE DESIGN” by James L. Johnson, William J. McKinley, Jr., & M. “Buddy” Benz, Copyright © 2001 by San Jacinto Publishing Co. Books can be purchased online HERE
  • Exam Content Information

Cut Flower Dealer Permit

Authorizes the holder to sell cut flowers, either singly or in bunches. Cannot arrange flowers in any fashion. In order to apply for a cut flower dealer permit, the applicant must be involved in the business of selling cut flowers. A Louisiana State Sales Tax number, issued by Louisiana Department of Revenue and Taxation (225) 219-7318), is required prior to issuance of permit.

Cut Flower Dealer Permit Application

Requirements:

  • Permit only – no exam – separate permit required for each outlet.
  • Fee – $90 per outlet per year.

Many of these licenses and permits have overlaps. For example:

1.   If a nursery grower also wants to install and maintain landscapes, he/she is required to have a landscape horticulturist license.

2.   A retail nursery outlet selling nursery stock may operate with a landscape horticulturist license or a nursery stock dealer permit. If they install nursery stock, they are required to have a landscape horticulturist license.

3.   Retail florists are not required to have a cut flower dealer permit if they want to sell cut flowers that are not in an arrangement. Also, they are not required to have a nursery stock dealer permit to sell potted plants. However, if they have sod (grass) or woody ornamentals (such as trees, shrubs, etc.) for sale, they would need a nursery stock dealer permit as well as a retail florist license.


Nursery Certificate Permit (Grower’s Permit)

Authorizes a grower to sell nursery stock, cut flowers, and bulbs which he/she grows. Permit is issued after inspection is made. Nursery is inspected for any major insects or diseases. No exam is required.

Nursery Certificate Inspection Application

Fees are as follows:

  • NC1 – Area greater than 2,500 sq. feet and/or Greenhouse greater than 200 sq. ft. – $100 per year.
  • NC2 – Home Yard (less than 2,500 sq. ft.) and/or Greenhouse less than 200 sq. ft. – $25 per year.

If persons or businesses want to sell nursery stock they have grown, or nursery stock they have purchased, from a single location, they need either a grower’s permit or a nursery stock dealer permit, not both. If they grow the majority of their stock, they may operate under a nursery grower’s permit. However, if they grow and sell nursery stock at one location, and also sell from any additional locations, they need a single grower’s permit, and they need a nursery stock dealer permit for each additional location.


Nursery Stock Dealer Permit

Authorizes the holder to sell nursery stock. In order to apply for a nursery stock dealer permit, the applicant must be involved in the business of selling nursery stock. A Louisiana State Sales Tax number, issued by Louisiana Department of Revenue and Taxation ((225) 219-7318), is required prior to issuance of permit.

Nursery Stock Dealer Permit Application

Requirements:

  • Permit only – no exam – separate permit required for each outlet.
  • Fee – $150 per outlet per year.

Wholesale Florist License

Authorizes the holder to prepare and sell cut flowers, plant materials and ornamental plants to retail florists and cut flower dealers. Cannot make and/or sell floral arrangements.

Requirements: